Mini Reviews: The Sound of Stars & Nameless Queen!

Title: The Sound of Stars
Author: Alechia Dow
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopian, Aliens 
Source: ARC via Publisher/Netgalley
Publisher: Inkyard
Publication Date: February 25th 2020

Summary: 
Don’t miss this spectacular debut novel… Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth. Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population. Seventeen-year-old Janelle “Ellie” Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. Deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, humanity’s emotional transgressions are now grounds for execution. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her. Born in a lab, M0Rr1S (Morris) was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie’s illegal library, he’s duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They’re both breaking the rules for love of art—and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does. Ellie’s—and humanity’s—fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution—thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while making a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.
Aliens. Books. Dystopian NYC. This book screams my name, so it is no shock this this is one of my most anticipated reads and debuts of 2020 (Though I got to read it last week!) The Sound of Stars did not disappoint for one second and kept me wanting and needing to know what was going to happen next. 

Can we take a moment to admire how beautiful the cover for this novel is?! The art and the colors blend beautifully and I absolutely adore it, the ARC is stunning but I can't wait to see finished copies of this beauty. 

Alechia is a debut author and for her first novel, The Sound of Stars is magnificent. The world building, characters and plot bring this story a live in front of the reader. I can't wait for every one else to meet Ellie and M0Rr1S! I loved every moment of this post apocalyptic road trip to save humanity and literature and music and I can't wait to see what the sequel will hold. (There will be a sequel, right? *insert puppy dog eyes here*)



πŸ‘ΈπŸΌπŸ—‘πŸ‘ΈπŸΌπŸ—‘πŸ‘ΈπŸΌπŸ—‘πŸ‘ΈπŸΌπŸ—‘


Title: Nameless Queen
Author: Rebecca McLaughlin
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Random House Children via NetGalley
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 7th 2020

Summary: 
One girl must make a name for herself--or die trying --in this royal fantasy where an unknown peasant becomes the ultimate ruler. But how long can she keep the crown if everyone wants her dead? Perfect for fans of Furyborn, Red Queen, and Everless. Everyone expected the king's daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me. It shouldn't even be possible. I'm Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don't even get names. Heck, dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care. But there's no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don't?
I wanted to love Nameless Queen so much, especially since the synopsis sounds AMAZING. But when I finished this book I didn't know how I felt, and now its a few days post-finishing Nameless Queen and I am still not sure. 

Nameless Queen started off really strong. I wanted to get to know these characters, this world and the different social classes. But by the middle I was bored. But I wasn't bored enough to stop reading. I am going to chalk this up to it being a "me" issue since I have seen tons of glowing reviews for this book. 

I do plan on checking out the second book to Nameless Queen when it's published to see how Rebecca wraps everything up. If you're looking for a quick fantasy novel with strong female leads, I say give this book a shot! 



No comments

Please note that if your comment doesn’t appear right away it’s because we have to approve it & Make sure to clock the "notify me" box so you can check back once your comment has been approved! ❤️