ARC Review: Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

Title: Ignite the Stars (???)
Author: Maura Milan
Genre: Science Fiction
Source: Edelweiss
Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company
Publication Date: September 4th 2018

Summary: 
Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl. A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control. Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen? In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.

So, I never typically read reviews before I read a book. I want to go into review copies as unbiased as possible but I was a little worried. Ignite the Stars has a lot of mixed reviews. Most seem to like it, but some didn't. In my personal opinion I did have a few issues with Ignite the Stars but I still loved it and gave it four stars! Milan started off with some kick ass characters for her debut novel. 

Speaking of characters can we take a moment to just admire Ia, (Pronounced Eye - Ah.) I loved how kick ass she was. She starts off as the villain in Ignite the Stars and through out the entirety of the novel we see how much she grows and changes as a character. People she swore to hate and a place she swore to destroy are things she ends up saving ultimately. Brinn never expected to befriend Ia, she is the most dangerous individual in all if the Common Wealth. But pretty soon the two are warming up to each other and developing a bond. Knives is in charge of making sure Ia stays in line, but never did he think that he would feel the way he did for a criminal that his father had spent years hunting. Ignite the Stars is told in three perspectives, giving an interesting insight to the world of Ignite the Stars as well as unique struggles that each character faces through out the novel. 

I think that Milan could have built the world of Ignite the Stars up a bit more, you get a pretty clear picture. I would have loved to learn more about how the star systems came to be, how Tawny was destroyed as well as the other foreign planet refugees. I am hoping if there is more books in this world that Milan will expand on it. Regardless it isn't hard to gather a general idea of what is going on in this world. With tensions rising after Ia's capture the Common Wealth is on the break of a civil war over foreign issues. 

My big issue with this book and why I took one star of the rating is the pacing is a little fast, as the book jumps around a lot. Though a couple of months pass in the entirety of the book it doesn't feel that way. It just felt a little off in a sense. It was one thing that I had a hard time overcoming. 

The romance in this book is totally heart eyes worth. Ia and Knife make the perfect pair and the romance is such a slow burning that it was a sigh of relief when they finally kissed for this first time. I loved to see how they both were trying to over come their attraction for each other, considering the fact that they were suppose to be each others enemy. Brinn sort of has a love interest, it is brushed upon but nothing really happens. I'm hoping if there is another book Brinn does pursue something with this character. 

Overall, I really enjoyed Ignite the Stars and loved the idea behind it. I can't wait to see what Milan has in store for these characters next, because after that ending you can only hope/need another book. 






No comments

We want to hear what YOU have to say! Go ahead and share your thoughts and opinions below. :-) (We promise we don't bite!)