Review: Contagion by Erin Bowman

Title: Contagion (Contagion #1)
Author: Erin Bowman
Genre: Science Fiction, Horror
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: July 24th 2018
Hardcover, 432 pages

Summary: 
Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy. After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission. When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project—including its members’ dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried—and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.


It got in us. Most are dead. Don't set foot here again.

I am always in for a good Sci-Fi. I am a sucker for space adventures, mysterious viruses and books that are going to give me the chills. Contagion exceeded every single one of my expectations and then some. I flew through the novel in less then a day and I was on the edge of my seat the entire 432 pages. 


I loved all the character in the novel, mostly. I had a strong disliking for Dylan (more on that soon...) I am not super crazy about books with multiple POVs and especially when they are not labeled and you aren't entirely sure whose POV you are in in that moment. But after a while you are able to distinguish each character's voice. The characters were well fleshed out, we know just enough that we understand why they got dragged into this mission, how they could contribute and parts of their backstories. We didn't get too much unneeded information but I would love to learn a little more about them in the next novel! 

Dylan, the captain of the rescue mission was extremely hard to like and relate to. I understand that her crew and her where unfamiliar territory with a threat but she handled it horribly and caused the death of several of her crew members. She also made choices that almost killed several of the characters that did survive. I get that she was trying to redeem herself after messing up when she was in the academy and having to have her dad erase it from record. But she was also handed this job with no experience because of who her father was and though that isn't on her she was still unskilled and made rash decisions. In Nova's POV she briefly discusses a kiss between her and Dylan and developing feelings for her. I wish that Dylan talked about this a little more in her POV because as I reader I was left hanging on where they stood with things and if feelings were actually returned. 

I can use two words to describe how the infected were in this book: Space Zombies. The virus is spread through bodily fluids (mainly blood in this book) by an infected victim scratching another victim, injuring themselves and getting their blood in their victims wound. Newly infected are extremely smart and cunning and violent. But the more time they are infected the slower and more zombie like they became. In Contagion we learn that there is an immunity for this virus, but it has to be under the perfect circumstances. The infected were chilling and definitely gave this book its horror vibe, especially seeing familiar characters as some of the infected. 

I am really excited what Bowman has in store for in Immunity (Book #2) after the ending of Contagion. I highly recommend this to all my friends who love creepy space sci-fi's that will leave you craving more long after you finish the last page. 2019 can't come soon enough! 





No comments

We want to hear what YOU have to say! Go ahead and share your thoughts and opinions below. :-) (We promise we don't bite!)