Teaser Review: Song of the Abyss by Makiia Lucier

Title: Song of the Abyss
(Tower of Winds #2)
Author: Makiia Lucier
Genre: Fantasy
Source: HMH Books for Young Readers via NetGalley
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 27th 2019

Summary: 
Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman. They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin. Never a good sign. As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer. But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna's escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors--her captain, her countrymen--have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom. Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

I was super lucky to win a giveaway for Song of The Abyss back in November and I was going to wait longer to start it because this book does not come out until August. But the cover kept looking at me and I was looking at it and I caved. Release date is still a while off BUT I loved Song of the Abyss to much to not talk about it now. So, please enjoy this teaser review. 

  • The action starts from page one and doesn't slow down for a moment. Each page furthered the plot and sucked me deeper into the story. 

  • Lucier created a cast of really likable characters. Obviously I didn't like the villain in the story, but I loved the connections each character had with each other and how in their own little sense were a family. 

  • It took me all of about two pages to fall in love with Levi, the prince of Lunes. He is super dreamy and moody and amazing.

  • Though Song of the Abyss can be read as a stand alone it is a part of the Tower of Wind series and its companion novel Isle of Blood and Stone follows the story of Ulises and Elias who do play a large role in this book as well. It isn't required but I am sure it does clear some of their back story up. 

  • The last fifty pages over the novel were a complete page turner. The whole villain, what they were doing and the whole cultural part of the story really interested me. It was something really different and refreshing. 

  • Song of the Abyss was absolutely both stunning and mesmerizing! 

Be sure to check back closer to August for my full review of Song of the Abyss, I promise this is one fantasy novel you are not going to want to miss in 2019! 







You can add Song of the Abyss on Goodreads here
You can pre-order Song of the Abyss on The Book Depository here
You can add Isle of Blood and Stone on Goodreads here
You can order Isle of Blood and Stone on The Book Depository here!


You can follow Makiia Lucier on Twitter here

No comments

We want to hear what YOU have to say! Go ahead and share your thoughts and opinions below. :-) (We promise we don't bite!)